5 Comments
author

As for that third convention well it's Sunday's Monster-Mania at the Greater Philadelphia Expo. Halloween might be over, but you never know what you could find. Tragically I don't mean Robert Englund, most famous for playing Freddy Krueger. So I'm line-phobic, so what?

Expand full comment
author

Scranton the next week may not be as difficult. I mean Blackbox is making an appearance there and even if the Kickstarter I helped back will give me access to their entire digital trades at the time of this post...

What? Ron Marz is gonna be too long a line.

Besides a few creatives are around like Mark Shultz (for Cadillacs & Dinosaurs/Xenozoic and Carbon material) Quique Lopez.

Expand full comment
author

Okay so far been getting a look at Artist Alley. The ones that seems to get the best reception with actual comics they've made rather than pin-ups is Mike Koneful and (Jessica) Knewasser Productions. Mike Dawson comics looks fun but it's not the kind of comics I wanna spend my money on. And Knewasser I can get on Kindle. Plus I'm seeing two guys that are getting around: Christian Espirutsanto and Chris Ring. The previous is trying really hard to get his comic to the biggest possible audience; unfortunately I don't enjoy it enough to join that crowd. But I wonder if Chris Ring is selling any stuff besides Seamus (the Famous), because again I can get that title on Kindle; maybe his Carbon Knight. Maybe I'll find a copy of The Dark Reaches from Deanna Destito, even though anthologies are kind of hit and miss. Jeff Brennan's content certainly looks entertaining, but I can get most of his content through IndyPlanet. The most I'm hoping for R.C. Young's Witchman; you don't publish a self-published series for 9 issues without it being good. Unless I'm misidentifying. Then again the really obscured On the Square Comics like Opposing Forces could be a good place. Otherwise, I might be spending my time looking through longboxes for obscure comics lost to time like Jack Kirby's series at Topps Comics. Not very valuable, but might be worth putting on Gutternaut.

Expand full comment
author

By the way it's pretty neat to see Felix The Cat's early days in the public domain. One Super Jersey's sponsors is Think Ink Screenprinting who uses Felix's head for advertisement, even if this is the more modern design. I mean the trademark owners are pretty lax about it, considering they are letting a publisher use the character for a kid's graphic novel: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/rocketshipkids/felix-the-cat

Expand full comment
author

First up is the Super Jersey Comic Expo. Hopefully the Artist Alley guests have some great stuff. Indie artists are who get the most of my support. Partly because I'd rather not be in line for Jim Steranko or Bob Budiansky. Might be interesting to see what Richard Comely's up to.

Expand full comment